Development Strategy

In the period from 2018 till 2020, Multipurpose Terminal Yug-2 in the sea port of Ust-Luga will be renovated to reach transshipment rate of 20 million tons of cargo per year.

Construction of a high-tech multipurpose handling terminal providing reliable environmental protection is planned. In accordance with the project, the terminal will be designed for handling bulk and general cargoes and will consist of three complexes to handle cargo as follows:

Сoal – 14 million tons per year

Mineral fertilizers – 3 million tons per year

General cargo – 3 million tons per year

The coal complex will consist of a car unloading station, with the installation of defrosting devices and tandem car dumpers; a warehouse to store coal indoors to ensure the necessary environmental protection (storage of up to 1 million tons); the pier, with a length of about 500 meters and the installation of two ship-loading machines.

For handling mineral fertilizers, a separate unloading station will be built, with dumping of cars to the underground bunker. The warehouse of mineral fertilizers will be closed type storage with capacity of 125 thousand tons. Ship-loading machines will be provided on the berth.

Transshipment of general cargo from rail transport to outdoor storage areas will be carried out by two rail mounted gantry cranes (RMG). Loading cargo on the vessel will be provided by rubber-tyred Liebherr LHM420 cranes.

Each complex will have a separate system of railway tracks to provide shunting operations (cleaning/supply, rearrangement of cars) without crossing the routes of cars.

It is planned to renovate the existing berths, build a pier and perform dredging works to enable Panamax vessels with a draught of 14.5 m to approach.

Развитие МПК Юг-2

В период с 2018 по 2020 год будет произведена реконструкция «Многопрофильного перегрузочного комплекса «Юг-2» в морском порту Усть-Луга» для возможности перегрузки 20 млн. т груза в год.

Предусмотрено строительство высокотехнологичного универсального перегрузочного комплекса, обеспечивающего надежную экологическую защиту. Согласно проекту, терминал будет рассчитан на перевалку навалочных и генеральных грузов и будет состоять из трех комплексов, позволяющих обрабатывать:

 - уголь  – 14 млн. т в год

 - минеральные удобрения – 3 млн. т в год

 - генеральные грузы – 3 млн. т в год

Угольный комплекс будет состоять из станции разгрузки вагонов, с установкой размораживающих устройств и тандемных вагоноопрокидывателей; склада для хранения угля закрытого типа с целью обеспечения защиты окружающей среды (объёмом складирования до 1 млн. т.); пирса, длиной около 500 метров и установкой на нем двух судопогрузочных машин.

Для обработки минеральных удобрений будет построена отдельная станция разгрузки, с высыпанием из вагонов в подземный бункер. Склад минеральных удобрений предусматривается закрытого типа объёмом хранения 125 тыс.т. Для погрузки судов на причале будут установлены судопогрузочные машины.

Перевалка генеральных грузов с железнодорожного транспорта на открытые зоны складирования будет осуществляться при помощи двух портальных кранов RMG. Погрузка груза на судно будет производиться при помощи кранов типа «Liebherr LHM420» на пневмоходу.

Для каждого комплекса будут обустроены отдельные парки ж/д путей, позволяющие производить маневровую работу (уборка-подача, перестановка вагонов) без пересечения маршрутов движения вагонов.

Запланирована реконструкция уже существующих причалов, строительство пирса и проведение дноуглубительных работ для возможности подхода судов типа «Panamax» с осадкой 14,5 м.